History of The Epilepsy Center of Northwest Ohio

You can place your cursor over the slide to pause the animation at any time.

Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline Timeline

About The Epilepsy Center of Northwest Ohio

The roots of the Epilepsy Center started with a small group of parents concerned with their children having epilepsy. They formed a support group that started to meet on the campus of what was then known as MCO (now known as UTMC).

They incorporated in June, 1977 as The Epilepsy Association Center of Northwestern Ohio, now known as “The Epilepsy Center”. The Center’s goals were to promote, support, and encourage activities for the prevention and the treatment of epilepsy, to educate the general public about epilepsy to eradicate misconceptions, to promote economic opportunities for people with epilepsy, and to provide programs, activities, and support for people with epilepsy.

We have seen many changes over the years and have been blessed to be able to continue to provide quality services in our communities. We have grown to see the inclusion of people who have developmental disabilities in our residential program. Our residential program has grown to see the development of an Adult Day Services Program that includes non-medical transportation. We are offering new programs for the community starting in February, 2013 and we continue to offer free educational programs through our Living with Epilepsy series.

Statistics show that 1 in 10 people will have some type of seizure in their lifetime. Some may have only one mild seizure that they never knew they had. Others will have seizures that reoccur—epilepsy—and will need support, education, and understanding to help them achieve their highest quality of life.

We are proud to be able to serve those with epilepsy and those with developmental disabilities and their families and friends. The work we do at The Center is not “just a job”, it is an opportunity for us to “fulfill a vocation”. While we aim to enrich the lives of others, they, too, are enriching our lives.

Funding for programs and services outside of the residential stream are obtained through our fundraising events—The PGT (Practically a Golf Tournament) and our Annual Celebration—and through general contributions to The Center. Please remember The Epilepsy Center when you decide on your charity giving as we continue to live our mission.

Roy Cherry, Executive Director
Email: rcherry@epilepsycenter.org

Wendy Bejaige, Associate Director
Email: wbejaige@epilepsycenter.org

Jocelyn Sugg, Human Resources Manager
Email: jsugg@epilepsycenter.org

Betty Lopez Hartman, Office Mgr/Marketing Coordinator
Email: bhartman@epilepsycenter.org

Karen Diaz, Information Specialist
Email: kdiaz@epilepsycenter.org

Jennifer Cox, QIDP
Email: jcox@epilepsycenter.org

Gil Seeburger, Health Services Coordinator
Email: gseeburger@epilepsycenter.org

Faron Garvey, Residential Coordinator
Email: fgarvey@epilepsycenter.org

Linda Coker, Vocational Coordinator/ADS
Email: lcoker@epilepsycenter.org

Olga Ruiz, Residential Coordinator
Email: oruiz@epilepsycenter.org

Laurie Beaverson, Payee Services
Email: lbeaverson@epilepsycenter.org

Bruce Bansbach, Accounts Payable
Email: bbansbach@epilepsycenter.org

Educational Clicks

What is Epilepsy? Diagnostic Tests Treatment Options Common Medications Seizure First Aid FAQ about IEPs

The Mission of the Epilepsy Center of Northwest Ohio is to improve the lives of people affected by epilepsy and those with developmental disabilities.

People with epilepsy and those with developmental disabilities will attain the highest quality of life and gain full acceptance and understanding from the community.

Follow us on:   Facebook   Twitter